The 20 Albums of my Life

I hate chain posts and I hate being tagged in chain posts and I hate people putting me on the spot to do things, through chain posts. Also, I hate Facebook, it’s an archaic, restrictive and a confusing form of social media that specifically restricts networking to family, friends and acquaintances. However, Emerald tagged me in a post to create my own list of the top 12 albums of my life. What the fuck does that mean? Are these the albums that mean the most to me or are they the albums that I personally consider to be masterpieces OR did I just write the same thing twice in different words? I don’t even know.

Yes, Emerald. Well, because I love her she is allowed to tag me in any post her tiny, frozen heart desires. But, seriously, she tagged me in a post I’d be interested in discussing. Music, film and TV are my life, so how in the world could I turn this down. If it was Neknomination or something stupid I wouldn’t be doing it.

I’d originally made a list of 12 albums and posted it to Facebook. I’d taken some time to think about them but I really did not put much effort into it. I’m new to the whole being tagged thing, so, I didn’t know you could bend the rules, until, Nelson posted his list to Facebook. It was an impressive list of albums but he added a description under each album as to why they were chosen. I thought to myself, “Why didn’t I think of doing that in the first place?” Being a bit of an asshole, a cynic, fickle and I just really hate being outdone; I ended up making this post. Although, I love and respect the hell out of Nelson’s musical prowess and this is just me trying to live up to his level.

A few changes from the original format:

  • 12 is a stupid number for a list, mine will be 20 (ahem, Lucas did 20 for his list, I’m just copying him…If he’s reading this, hey, your list was great).
  • This is supposed to be a list of albums that represent my life, I’m not taking a few minutes!
  • List is in descending order, fyi, because no specific order means I put zero thought into it.
  • This entire list is a contradiction because I already did a post not following these guidelines but details.

So, once again thank you to Emerald for tagging me, I’m extremely honoured to be regarded as someone who’s taste is so good it would not cause her pain when she read the list. Her actual words. I’d also like to thank Nelson for actually putting work into his list which in turn motivated me to do so. I guess this post is dedicated to them in way but, no, not really, this post is just about me and the music I like.

Cover_Chuck_300RGB20) Chuck – Sum 41

The first album on my list should be a bast from most of our pasts. Sum 41 defined grades 6-8 for me, especially this album. Sum 41 introduced me to pop punk genre. I thought their music was so hardcore, actually, I still do. I even used this song on a project and had the pleasure of hearing my seventh grade teacher say the words, “Angels With Dirty Faces.” This album was literally the soundtrack to my pubescent life. This album is the shit, I still find myself listening to this album, more often, than you could imagine.

Favourite Track: Pieces

kill1(1)19) Hot Fuss – The Killers

Hot Fuss will always have a special place in my heart. Also it is the only Killers album I can listen to from start to finish. Every song on here is a classic and, no one, I mean no one, can contain themselves when Mr. Brightside comes on. Last year, I got to see The Killers live and they were really great. They played all of their greatest hits and it served as a good reminder, that when they first started, I used to love them a lot. Their singles are always top notch, I just wish their albums were just as great. The Killers would never be able to top themselves after this album and that’s alright because this album is great and memorable enough to make up for it.

Favourite Track: All These Things That I’ve Done

questamation18) Questamation – USS

USS or Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker as the cool kids call them. I hate those kids but I love this band. They were first introduced to me by Ms. Emerald herself. She loves this band more than anything on the face of this earth. Seriously, not even kidding about that, but for me, USS is just fun. I mean what other band has songs that combine acoustic guitars with turntables. They are also one of the best live bands I’ve ever seen. I got kicked in the head and the girl behind me got knocked the fuck out, it was so great. Questamation may not include their best songs but it is their only full album. 7 songs releases are EPs, sorry. So I really had no choice in adding this album to my list.

Favourite Track: Laces Out

Little Hell17) Little Hell – City & Colour

I love Alexisonfire but I love Dallas Green even more. He was my favourite part of that band. Yeah, he can be a stick in the mud but his poetic lyrics and melancholy melody are what makes him special. I could never connect to any of his other albums but I find every song on Little Hell relatable, especially Grand Optimist. For the times you don’t want to get turnt up, Little Hell is the album for those moments. You can just sit back, relax and have the man serenade you. I can’t wait to see him perform live in May!

Favourite Track: Grand Optimist

Oh inverted world shins16) Oh, Inverted World – The Shins

I was introduced to this album through the film Garden State. More specifically the scene where Natalie Portman puts her headphones on Zach Braff’s head and all you hear is the song, New Slang, playing. That scene is one of my all-time favourites and so is that song. The Shins always create albums and never singles. Their songs flow into each other and feel like a complete story. I wish this album could be the soundtrack to life, ugh, I wish.

Favourite Track: New Slang

white-stripes-elephant15) Elephant – The White Stripes

I had to include a Jack White/The White Stripes album on this list. There’s really nothing much to say about their music other than it’s badass. The album is filled with blues inspirations and straight out jam sessions, which is shocking considering that it’s lead by two of the whitest people I’ve ever seen. They may have broken up but if Jack White’s solo album, Blunderbuss, is any indication The White Stripe sound lives on. This album is simply their best and that’s why I chose it for my list.

Favourite Track: Ball And Biscuit

Blink-182-Blink-18214) Blink 182 – Blink 182

Who doesn’t love or did not grow up listening to Blink 182. This album was the final album they did before the split back in 2005. This was the first album that felt like these guys had grown up. The shenanigans were over and at first I didn’t love this album. I was still head over heels in love with their older stuff, but as time has gone on, I’ve come back to this album more often than any other Blink 182 album. Just like them, I had grown up and my preferences changed.

Favourite Track: I Miss You

metric-fantasies-album-cover113) Fantasies – Metric 

If you live in Canada, I demand that you listen to this band. That said, this is the oldest album of theirs that I’ve listened too. So, I’ve only listened to two albums of theirs. Maybe their older stuff is better but I would not know. Metric is a band that would not work if it wasn’t for it’s lead female singer. I mean, they make sexy rock music. Lead singer, Emily Haines’ voice is equally dark as it is seductive. Love this album, love this band, listen to to them if you haven’t.

Favourite Track: Gold Guns Girls

in_utero nirvana12) In Utero – Nirvana 

Everyone knows the story of Nirvana. Lead singer, Kurt Cobain, committed suicide and that was the end of them. What makes them special, for me, is that they made grunge rock accessible. Everyone loves Nevermind but I think this is a much better album. It has a stronger voice and has a lot more to say. There is a tonal consistency to the album that I admire. This album was Nirvana in their prime, not giving a shit about others and making music their way.

Favourite Track: Rape Me

fleetwood-mac-cover11) Fleetwood Mac – Fleetwood Mac

Fleetwood Mac is one of my favourite classic rock bands of all-time. My parents actually played this album a lot while I was growing up and this album just stuck with me. Filled with so many classics, Rihannon, Landslide, and World Turning. Fleetwood Mac’s first album is just as great as their other albums. It’s filled with great songs, that would establish them as one of rock music’s greatest bands and Stevie Nicks as one of the greatest singers.

Favourite Track: Landslide

lorde-pure-heroine-cover10) Pure Heroin – Lorde

I’ve only ever been blown away by two debut albums in my life. Both made it to my list. One is still to come, while the other is the phenomenal Pure Heroine. For better or for worse, she changed pop music. She’s weird, she’s strange, she’s seventeen and she’s the total opposite of anything on the radio and that is why she’s one of favourite current artists. Her music has to only get better as she further perfects her sound. I’m beyond excited to hear what this girl does next.

Favourite Track: Team

Oracular Spectacular MGMT9) Oracular Spectacular – MGMT

Oracular Spectacular is the one and only MGMT album I love. It’s their greatest. Their other albums are just weird experiments and never worked for me. Nonetheless, Oracular Spectacular is one of the greatest alternative albums and it is one of my favourite albums of all time. Also along with USS and Passion Pit, they are another band recommended to me by Emerald. She has influenced my taste in music more than I’d like to admit.

Favourite Track: Time to Pretend

Frank_Ocean-Channel_Orange8) Channel Orange – Frank Ocean

Now, for that second album, I previously mentioned. Frank Ocean is an incredible talent. He may have only released one album so far but it is one of the greatest R&B albums I’ve ever heard. Granted, I don’t listen to a lot of R&B but it’s still my favourite. No one knew anything about him before his album, at least, I didn’t but this album showed us a little more of the man behind Channel Orange. Openly, admitting he’s been in love with someone of the same sex, Frank Ocean has showed strength and bravery, making the album extremely personal but also a work of art.

Favourite Track: Pyramids

arcade-fire-funeral7) Funeral – Arcade Fire

I’m secretly a shameful hipster. I love Arcade Fire, with a passion. If you’re a Canadian and a rock music fan, you have to love these guys. I’ve already seen them on four other lists and there’s a really good reason for that, they make incredible music. Their albums are all critically acclaimed but this album is one of favourites for the simple reason, that, there is a cohesiveness to the album that would continue in Arcade Fires’ future works. This is where it all started.

Favourite Track: Neighbourhood #1 (Tunnels)

chateau_red_hot_chili_peppers_by_the_way6) By The Way – Red Hot Chilli Peppers 

Come on, who does not love the RHCP. As far, as to why, I chose this specific album, I think it’s their best. Every song on here, every single one, is just damn perfect. The album straddles the line of being a good time, while also having something to say. RCHP, have always excelled in creating songs that touch on drugs, media, love while simultaneously talking about nothing. By The Way is just my favourite album by them, it is also is the most replayed.

Favourite Track: This is the Place

 kendrick-lamar-good-kid-maad-city-album-purchase5) good kid, m.A.A.d city – Kendrick Lamar

I’m not a big fan of rap music. Growing up, the only rap I listened to was Eminem and he also started to suck around the time I was in high school. However, I loved The Eminem Show but it’s not on my list. Good kid, m.A.A.d city may just be the greatest rap album I’ve listened too. It’s personal, confessional and boastful. This album being here should show you how subjective my taste in music is. If I fall in love with something, the genre, does not matter.

Favourite Track: m.A.A.d city

American Idiot Green Day4) American Idiot – Green Day

I don’t know if it’s nostalgia or if I genuinely love this album but this album stuck with me. I could never take it off my iPod. Now I have the Classic so my entire library goes everywhere I go. But American Idiot has always been on my iPod, I’ve never been able to take it off. I’ve never been a big fan of Green Day but this album is undoubtedly their best. Boulevard of Broken dreams was my jam, it became my walking song. Used to listen to it as I walked to school in the morning. The album served as a great soundtrack to my teenage angst. The first punk album I listened too and honestly the best punk album I’ve listened too.

Favourite Track: Boulevard of Broken Dreams

 the-black-keys-brothers-album-cover3) Brothers – The Black Keys 

Starting the top three, is obviously, the incredibly bluesy rock album, Brothers, from the incredible Black Keys. From start to finish. it is a great album and yes I know everyone says that but I really do love this album more than any of their other ones. The blues sound dominates the album and that isn’t a bad thing. I mean I love the rock dominant sound of El Camino but Brothers is just good and a classic.

Favourite Track: Sinister Kid

Late registration 2) Late Registration – Kanye West

This could have easily been *insert Kanye album here* because all his albums are absolutely amazing and deciding which one is better is the hardest decision I’ll probably make in my life. But I had to go with Late Registration. Mainly because this is the first Kanye album I remember falling head over heels in love with. The album shows off Kanye’s wit, his politics, his ego and even his sentimental side. People always bitch about the crazy shit Kanye says and does but if you made music this brilliant, I’d allow it, to a certain extent. He will go down as one of the greats of our generation, simple as that.

Favourite Track: Diamonds From Sierra Leone

1) Revolver – Beatles 

The Beatles have gone down as one of the greatest rock bands of all-time and listening to their music always reinforces that statement. Success was never enough for them because they always re-invented their sound. That’s one of the reason they always struck a note with me. You can listen to one album and every song is different from the other. Sonically, melodically and even in type. That’s is the main reason I treasure their album Revolver so much. It’s the album that kicked off the new Beatles sound. It includes rock songs, ballads, sitar music, a children’s song and Tomorrow Never Knows, which deserves to be in a musical category of its own.

Favourite Track: Tomorrow Never Knows

Well, that’s my list.

tumblr_mtx38iNV9q1rljzr3o1_500

One thought on “The 20 Albums of my Life”

  1. Great list reminded me of old albums I used to listen to like blink 182 sum 41 and the killers , but one thing that bothered me in your post. Kurt Cobain did not overdose he committed suicide by pulling a shotgun to his own head.

Leave a Reply

